THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE MOVIE REVIEW

I Thought it would be about time for me to review what I believe to be The Greatest Horror Movie ever made THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE.  A Young Director with an inexperienced cast and a minimal budget in the summer of 1973 created a Horror masterpiece.  Though Banned in Many Countries when it premiered in 1974 it is now considered to be one of the prime Examples of American Horror Films.

There are Many reason’s why this film is considered so good by so many, but the first would be the title.  There is No Horror Movie with a Descriptive a Title as THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE.  Also because so much of its initial buzz was a spread by word of mouth throughout the Drive Ins of America, Everyone was asking each other “Have you seen THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE?”  Those who hadn’t made sure they did just after Hearing The Title.

The Second reason is it’s such a superb Film!!  The Realism and Terror the Film Projects have Rarely been Captured as well as in THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE.  The Equally believable performances by the villains Gunnar Hansen, Ed Neal and Jim Siedow and The Victims Marilyn Burns, Teri McMinn and William Vail were equally Outstanding.  You have a cannibal in a Human flesh Mask slaughtering people with a chainsaw, a sledgehammer and suspending them up on meat hooks, and You Never doubt that what you’re seeing is Real.  In Fact from the very beginning of the Movie Itself from John Larroquette introduction tells you that this is a true story.  However like Tobe Hooper has commented, this was supposed to take place in the summer of 1973, which is the same time as they were filming this movie, so It Couldn’t have been true.  There is Truth behind the fact that Leatherface is a spinoff take of Ed Gein but that is the Only Basis the Movie has in reality, None of this was True.

The final reason why THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE is the Greatest Horror Movie Ever Made is The Hype and Legend it has Created around the World.  Now like I said earlier, None of the Movie is true accounts of any murders in Texas but The Film makes you believe that it is an it did happen just like that.  I have lived here in Texas my whole life and I have heard from Multiple people from One side of this State to Another say that they have a “cousin” who is an inmate with or a guard over the real Leatherface sitting on Death Row.  I Guess the Guy has a Life Sentence on Death Row because I heard that for Over 30 Years and they’ve never seemed to kill his sorry ass.  Lets Not Forget where this is supposed to take place people.  If Leatherface was caught in Texas he wouldn’t have lived on Death Row to see the Sequel come out in the Mid 80’s.  In Fact Texas Kills Most notorious Killers Before they can even get to see the inside of a Courtroom much less a Prison Cell, examples Lee Harvey Oswald, Charles Whitman, Bonnie & Clyde.  In fact The hype has at Times Over shadowed the Truth as people have Mentioned to me about the Locations of the Filming of the Movie being Actual crime scene locations.  I remember a good friend telling me they moved the actual slaughterhouse from near Bastrop to Austin and it’s true but it’s the film location, not where anything actually happened like in The Amityville Horror.

There are Many Reasons Why I and Many Others think THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE is the Greatest horror Movie ever made, but You will have to Watch it and decide for Yourself.  Keep in Mind the Influence that this Movie has made on the Entire Industry and The Pains taking Hours that the Cast and Crew went into making this Great Work of Art.  Like 27 Hour filming of the Dinner Scene in 125 degree temp, Let me say that Again, 27 HOUR FILMING OF THE DINNER SCENE IN 125 DEGREE TEMPERATURE!  I feel that the feeling they put into it made the movie that much more believable, and that’s why so many still think it’s a true story.

3 Responses to “THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE MOVIE REVIEW”

  1. phillip weber Says:

    Well done Richy! I agree with alot of your points. The scariest aspect of the film for me personally were the unbelievably creepy random “noises” (don’t know that you can really call it music) that are placed throughout it. The imagery was well done too, like the dead armadillo in the opening road side scene and the dead cattle as the kids pass the slaughter house. I heard Rob Zombie say that the scariest thing about TCM is that most of it occured in broad daylight, which was rare for a horror film in the early 70s. Good point! I watched this (against my parent’s wishes) when I was 11 and I slept with the lights on for a month. I’m 36 now and Leatherface still creeps me out! I have nieces between the ages of 12 and 10 who bug me about seeing this movie, but I warn them that they’re not ready! Hands down, my favorite horror movie and the scariest movie ever made!

    • Thanks Phill!! I thought you’d like it!! I saw this with my sister at a Drive In back in 1978 or 79!! I remember because I wasn’t in school yet, and I started school in 1980!! Of the Classic Horror Movie that I saw when I was little with my sister at a Drive In would be MOTEL HELL, TCM, THE AMITYVILLE HORROR, THE FOG, THE HILLS HAVE EYES, SUSPRIRIA and EYEBALL!! I have found all of these for my own personel collection except EYEBALL!! It’s been 30 years since I’ve seen it, and I was a small child, It might not be scary now!! I Lucked out with Many of these others being Truely Terrifying Movies, I’m just not sure that EYEBALL will be the sam way!!
      Thanks for the Responce Man!! You Rule!!

  2. Thanks Phill!! I thought you’d like it!! I saw this with my sister at a Drive In back in 1978 or 79!! I remember because I wasn’t in school yet, and I started school in 1980!! Of the Classic Horror Movie that I saw when I was little with my sister at a Drive In would be MOTEL HELL, TCM, THE AMITYVILLE HORROR, THE FOG, THE HILLS HAVE EYES, SUSPRIRIA and EYEBALL!! I have found all of these for my own personel collection except EYEBALL!! It’s been 30 years since I’ve seen it, and I was a small child, It might not be scary now!! I Lucked out with Many of these others being Truely Terrifying Movies, I’m just not sure that EYEBALL will be the sam way!!
    Thanks for the Responce Man!! You Rule!!

Leave a Reply

